Unlike any other, Newbury Park bus shelter rises out of the ground like a huge, magnificent, and strangely beautiful archway, reminiscent of an alien spaceship in a Hollywood film.
Nestling underneath is the Tube station, home to the 66, 296 and 396 London bus routes.
Built on the site of the staff railway cottages built by the Great Eastern Company next to the station in a semi-detached garden city-style plus a posher house for the Station Master, a detached villa with a pillared porch and a large garden.
The bus shelter was designed by architect Oliver Hill in 1937 as part of London Transport’s New Works Scheme, due to World War II, like many other stations on the Central line eastern extension route, the massive shelter wasn’t completed until 1949.
Given a Grade II listing in 1981, the Newbury Park bus shelter with its seven-span copper roof is a Grade II listed building and an iconic feature of the surrounding area.
It won a Festival of Britain award in 1951 for architectural merit there is a plaque with the festival logo.
It is only used by eastbound buses despite westbound buses being specified in the original 1930s brief.